Skip to content

Bumrah gets ODI, T20 break after Test heroics

NEW DELHI: Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah was on Tuesday rested for the upcoming one-day series in Australia and tour of New Zealand after playing a key role in India’s historic Test triumph Down Under.

Bumrah took 21 wickets in four Tests as India clinched the series 2-1. It was India’s first ever Test series win in Australia after seven decades of trying.

Virat Kohli’s team will now take on the hosts in three One-day Internationals starting on Saturday in Sydney and then travel to New Zealand for a limited-overs series later this month.

“Keeping in mind the workload of the bowler, it was best felt to give him adequate rest ahead of the home series against Australia,” the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in the statement.

Upcoming paceman Mohammed Siraj will replace Bumrah in the squad for Australia and the five ODI matches in New Zealand starting from Jan 23 at Napier, the BCCI added.

Another rookie paceman Siddarth Kaul will take Bumrah’s place in three Twenty20 Internationals in New Zealand.

India will host Australia in five ODI matches starting on Feb 24 in Mohali, followed by two T20 games.

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Siraj, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami.

T20 squad: Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Rahul, Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Karthik, Jadhav, Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Chahal, Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *