Who is Pakistan’s longest-serving Prime Minister?

Who is Pakistan's longest-serving prime minister?

The prospects of the no-confidence motion prevailing have increased as the opposition gains a numerical advantage in the National Assembly, paving the path for Imran Khan to resign as Prime Minister.

Khan, on the other hand, will not be the first Prime Minister to resign. Pakistan has never had a Prime Minister who has served for more than five years. Let’s take a look at how long each elected Prime Minister has ruled in the country’s history.

Read More

1.Nawabzada Liaquat Ali Khan

On 14 August 1947, Nawabzada Liaquat Ali Khan was elected as Pakistan’s first Prime Minister, and he was assassinated in Rawalpindi on 16 October 1951, after 4 years and 63 days in power.

2.Khawaja Nazimuddin

Khawaja Nazimuddin, Pakistan’s second Prime Minister, was the country’s first Bengali leader.

3.Muhammad Ali Bogra

Muhammad Ali Bogra, Pakistan’s third Prime Minister, was a Bengali by birth and served as Prime Minister from 17 April 1953 until 12 August 1955.

4.Muhammad Ali Chaudhry

Chaudhry Muhammad Ali, Pakistan’s fourth Prime Minister, was the country’s first Punjabi Prime Minister, serving for one year and 31 days from August 12, 1955, to September 12, 1956.

5.Hussain Suhrawardy

Hussain Suhrawardy had the honour of being Pakistan’s fifth Prime Minister, however he could only serve for one year and 35 days, from September 12, 1956, to October 17, 1957.

6.Ibrahim Ismail Chundrigar

Ibrahim Ismail Chandragar became Pakistan’s sixth Prime Minister, however his reign only lasted 60 days, from October 17 to December 16, 1957.

7.Feroz Khan Noon

Feroz Khan Noon, Pakistan’s seventh Prime Minister, served for 295 days before resigning his seat on October 7, 1958, after taking office on December 16, 1957.


Noorul Amin, who served as Prime Minister for the shortest period of time in Pakistan’s history, had the honour of becoming the country’s eighth Prime Minister for only 13 days.

9.Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, the ninth Prime Minister of Pakistan, was the Prime Minister for three years and 325 days from August 14, 1973, to July 5, 1977.

10.Mohammad Khan Junejo

The tenth Prime Minister of Pakistan Muhammad Khan Junejo held the office of Prime Minister for 3 years and 66 days from March 24, 1985, to May 29, 1988.

11.Benazir Bhutto

Benazir Bhutto, the 11th and first female Prime Minister of Pakistan, has twice been honoured to be the Prime Minister for the first time.

12.Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif

The 12th Prime Minister of Pakistan Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif has had the honour of becoming the Prime Minister three times. He served as Prime Minister for the first time from 6 November 1990 to 18 July 1993 for 2 years and 254 days.

13.Benazir Bhutto

Benazir Bhutto had the honour of becoming the 13th Prime Minister of Pakistan but this power lasted from 19 October 1993 to 5 November 1996 for 3 years and 17 days.

14.Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif

Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif had the honour of becoming the Prime Minister for the second time on 17 February 1997 but as the 14th Prime Minister of Pakistan this power was limited to 2 years 237 days on 12 October 1999.

15.Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali

The 15th Prime Minister of Pakistan Mir Zafarullah Khan Jamali served as the Prime Minister of Pakistan for one year and 216 days from November 23, 2002, to June 26, 2004.

16.Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain

Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, the 16th Prime Minister of Pakistan, is the second short-term Prime Minister to serve only 57 days from June 30, 2004, to August 26, 2004.

17.Shaukat Aziz

Shaukat Aziz, the 17th Prime Minister of Pakistan, assumed the office of Prime Minister on 28 August 2004 and remained in office for 3 years and 79 days till 15 November 2007.

18.Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani

Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, the 18th Prime Minister of Pakistan, is the longest-serving ruler from March 25, 2008, to June 19, 2012, for 4 years and 86 days.

19.Raja Pervez Ashraf

The 19th Prime Minister of Pakistan Raja Pervez Ashraf held the post of Prime Minister for 275 days from June 22, 2012, to March 24, 2013.

20.Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif

Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, who has been the Prime Minister three times in the history of Pakistan, has the honour of being the 20th Prime Minister after the 12th and 14th. He later resigned from the PM’s post.

21.Shahid Khaqan Abbasi

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi became the 21st Prime Minister of Pakistan and held the post of Prime Minister for 303 days from August 1, 2017, to May 31, 2018.

22.Imran Khan

The 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan Imran Ahmad Khan Niazi took over as the Prime Minister on August 18, 2018, and still holds the post of Prime Minister of Pakistan. The perpetrators will become the Prime Minister.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.