Shehbaz Sharif's nomination papers

Shehbaz Sharif’s nomination papers accepted, PTI’s objection rejected

Posted on

The nomination papers of joint opposition candidate Shehbaz Sharif were approved on Sunday after the NA Secretary overruled the PTI’s objections.

Babar Awan, counsel for the opposing candidate Shah Mahmood Qureshi, objected to Shehbaz Sharif’s nomination papers being set aside by the NA official. There was a squabble between PTI leaders and NA staff over whether or not Sharif’s nomination papers should be accepted.

Babar Awan, counsel for Shah Mahmood Qureshi, objected to Shehbaz Sharif’s nomination, claiming that the candidate has been nominated in corruption cases and thus is ineligible for the position of Prime Minister.

There are a number of cases pending against Shehbaz Sharif, according to Babar Awan, which cannot be overlooked. “Shehbaz Sharif has been on bail in graft cases, and the opposition to his nomination is completely legal,” Awan stated.

A united opposition delegation also arrived at the acting National Assembly speaker’s office, where the nomination papers were being scrutinised. The raising of the objection sparked a heated exchange of words between the two parties.

Even before the rigging, PTI candidate Shah Mehmood Qureshi claimed that the PML-N was resorting to rigging. The PML-Ahsan N’s Iqbal and the PTI’s leader had a verbal spat.

Opposition parties, on the other hand, made no objections to Qureshi’s nomination papers, which were unanimously approved. Opposition parties had previously submitted Shehbaz Sharif’s nomination papers for the position of Speaker of the House.

Shehbaz Sharif’s nomination was proposed and seconded by Ayaz Sadiq, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Asif Zardari, Bilawal Bhutto, Azam Khan Hoti, Shahzain Bugti, Khursheed Shah, Syed Naveed Qamar, Khawaja Asif, Rana Tanvir Hussain, Maulana Asaad Mehmood, Shahida Akhtar Ali, Kha

Amir Dogar proposed Shah Mahmood Qureshi’s nomination, which was seconded by Maleeka Bokhari. After a no-confidence motion was passed against Imran Khan yesterday, Pakistan’s National Assembly will elect a new prime minister tomorrow. At 2:00 p.m., the Assembly will convene.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *