Punjab’s Chief Minister, Hamza Shehbaz was elected

Punjab's new Chief Minister, Hamza Shehbaz

On Saturday, Hamza Shehbaz was elected as the new Chief Minister of Punjab. His opponent, Pervaiz Elahi, received no votes because his party and the PTI boycotted the polls.

Hamza is the province’s 21st Chief Minister.

Read More

The session finally began after much waiting and delay due to a ruckus, with Deputy Speaker Mazari in the chair. PTI and PML-Q lawmakers walked out of the house when the Deputy Speaker started the voting process.

The meeting was set to begin at 11:30 a.m. It was, however, postponed because government lawmakers — the PTI and the PML-Q — resorted to violence.

Despite the presence of security guards, lawmakers from the ruling party threw “lotas” at Mazari, attacked him, and pulled his hair. Following this, the deputy speaker exited the chamber.

Before assaulting Mazari, PTI lawmakers created a ruckus in the house by bringing “lotas” to the chamber and chanting “lota, lota” (turncoats) as they slammed dissident PTI MPAs who had left the party and decided to support the opposition.

The anti-riot force personnel entered the assembly wearing bulletproof jackets and arrested the PTI MPAs as the situation became more intense and requests for police control were made.

The police entered the Punjab Assembly’s premises through the old building. Inside the assembly, a large number of female police officers are also present.

With everything going on, Elahi was not spared and became a victim of the assembly’s violence, which left him injured.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.