PTI challenge Peshawar mayor election after losing to JUI-F

PTI challenge Peshawar mayor election after losing to JUI-F

PESHAWAR: The governing Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) has decided to petition the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for a vote recount on Peshawar’s mayoral seat, which it narrowly lost to opponents JUI-F.

According to unverified and unofficial results, JUI-Zubair F’s Ali won the coveted seat with 63,388 votes, while the PTI’s Rizwan Bangash received just 50,659 votes.

Rahat Akbar Mughal, spokesperson for the PTI’s Peshawar branch, stated in a statement that the party will file an application for a vote recount, alleging that the number of rejected PTI votes surpassed the victory margin of the JUI-F candidate.

Rahat Akbar cited a viral video clip and said that the other candidate spent Rs20 million on the polls in order to win the mayorship. “Those who used money to entice villagers and neighbourhood councillors should be held accountable,” he continued.

According to the PTI spokesman, the election procedure at women’s polling stations was purposefully slowed down, and polling personnel were allegedly paid bribes.

The ruling Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaaf (PTI), which has dominated KP since 2013, suffered a huge blow in the local government elections held in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P), with opposition candidates defeating ruling party nominees in most regions, including the provincial capital.

Furthermore, unconfirmed results from the KP’s 30 tehsils reveal that the JUI-F is leading with 13 seats, followed by the PTI (6), the PML-N (3), the Awami National Party (3), the Jamaat-i-Islami (1), and the PPP (1), with independent candidates securing three seats.

After the integration of the former Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) into the province in 2017, local body elections were held for the first time. According to court rulings, elections were held on a party-by-party basis in 17 districts containing 64 tehsils.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *