On April 11, the National Assembly will elect a new Prime Minister.

  • Whatsapp
National Assembly will vote for a new Prime Minister.

In a joint motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan, opposition parties in the National Assembly defeated the ruling PTI government with 174 votes, setting a new precedent for in-house change in the country’s parliamentary history.

Both PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif and PTI Vice-President Shah Mehmood Qureshi have filed nomination papers for new Leader of the House in the National Assembly.

Read More

The National Assembly Secretariat examined and approved their papers. Babar Awan had previously raised objections to Shehbaz Sharif’s nomination papers, but the NA Secretariat had rejected them.

The House will meet at 2:00 p.m. on Monday, April 11th, to elect a new Leader of the House (Prime Minister). The Chair will read out to the Assembly the names of the valid nominated candidates, referred to as contesting candidates, in the order in which their nomination papers were received, before proceeding to hold the poll in accordance with the procedure outlined in the Second Schedule.

The Speaker of the Chair shall direct that the bells be rung for five minutes before the start of voting to allow members who are not present in the Chamber to be present. All lobby entrances shall be locked immediately after the bells stop ringing, and the Assembly staff stationed at each entrance shall not allow any entry or exit through those entrances until the voting is completed.

The Speaker or Chair will then read the resolution to the Assembly and instruct those who wish to vote in favour to proceed in single file through the entrance, where tellers will be stationed to record the votes. When each member arrives at the tellers’ desk, he or she must call out the division number assigned to him by the rules.

The tellers will then cross his number off the division list while simultaneously announcing the member’s name. The member shall not move until he has clearly heard the teller call out his name in order to ensure that their vote has been properly recorded. After recording his vote, a member may not return to the Chamber until the bells have rung to signal the end of the voting process.

When the Speaker determines that all members who wished to vote have cast their ballots, he declares the voting to be complete. The Secretary will then collect the division list, count the recorded votes, and inform the Speaker of the results of the count.

The Speaker will then instruct the members to return to the Chamber by ringing the bells for two minutes. The Speaker will announce the result to the Assembly after the bells have stopped ringing.

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.